Awardees of the IUPAC 2019 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering

To celebrate International Day of Women and Girls in Science this February 11, IUPAC is pleased to announce the awardees of the IUPAC 2019 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering:

Professor Kim Baldridge, School Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Tianjin, China

Professor Donna Blackmond, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA

Professor Susan Bourne, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch, South Africa

Professor Janine Cossy, ESPCI, Paris, France

Professor Vicki Grassian, University of California San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA

Professor Otilia Mó Romero, Univ Autonoma Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Professor Elizabeth Ann Nalley, Cameron University, Lawton, OK, USA

Professor Carol Vivien Robinson, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom

Professor Molly Shoichet, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Professor Luisa Torsi, University of Bari Aldo Moro, Bari, Italy

Professor Chris Willis, School of Chemistry, Bristol, United Kingdom

Professor Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, Chalmers University, Gothenburg, Sweden


The awards program, initiated as part of the 2011 International Year of Chemistry celebrations, was created to acknowledge and promote the work of women chemists/chemical engineers worldwide. These 12 awardees have been selected based on excellence in basic or applied research, distinguished accomplishments in teaching or education, or demonstrated leadership or managerial excellence in the chemical sciences. The Awards Committee has been particularly interested in nominees with a history of leadership and/or community service during their careers.

An award ceremony will take place during the IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Paris, France, coinciding with the special symposium on Women in Chemistry and reception in honor of the recipients. See for details.

Dr. Carolyn Ribes, chair of the IUPAC committee on Chemistry and Industry and co-chair of the special symposium, remarked: “We are pleased with this year’s awardees and eager to recognize their contribution in a special session organized for the 2019 IUPAC Congress. Each year since 2011, the award has gained more attention in the community. During this year’s Congress and with the help of IUPAC leadership, we plan to continue this trend.”

The International Day of Women and Girls in Science is a global day celebrating achievement and promoting full and equal access to and participation in science for women and girls. The day also marks a call to action for further achieve gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.


See also project 2015-007-1-020 or originating call for nominations
Announcement published in Chem Int April 2019, p. 28


About IUPAC:
IUPAC was formed in 1919 by chemists from industry and academia. Since then, the Union has succeeded in fostering worldwide communications in the chemical sciences and in uniting academic, industrial and public sector chemistry in a common language. IUPAC is recognized as the world authority on chemical nomenclature, terminology, standardized methods for measurement, atomic weights and many other critically evaluated data. In more recent years, IUPAC has been pro-active in establishing a wide range of conferences and projects designed to promote and stimulate modern developments in chemistry, and also to assist in aspects of chemical education and the public understanding of chemistry. More information about IUPAC and its activities is available at

Comments are closed.