Hanwha-Total IUPAC Young Scientist Award 2020

The 2020 Hanwha-Total IUPAC Young Scientist Award, to be presented at Macro2020, has been awarded to Athina Anastasaki and Changle Chen.

The Hanwha-Total IUPAC Young Scientist Award (formerly Samsung-Total Petrochemicals – IUPAC Young Scientists Award) is dedicated to outstanding young scientists (not older than 40 years) and is sponsored by a grant from the aforementioned company. The prize was first awarded on the occasion of MACRO 2004 (Paris) and is granted biennially on the occasion of the IUPAC World Polymer Congress. The awardees are selected from the nominees by a Committee of the IUPAC Polymer Division. In the year 2020 the award will be presented at Macro2020 and there are two awardees (ex aequo) namely:

  • Assistant Prof. Dr. Athina Anastasaki, Department of Materials, ETH Zurich
  • Professor Changle Chen, Department of Polymer Science and Engineering, University of Science and Technology of China
Athina Anastasaki, Department of Materials, ETH Zurich
Changle Chen, University of Science and Technology of China


Prof. Athina Anastasaki was born in Greece and obtained her B.S. in Chemistry from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. She subsequently joined Professor Haddleton’s group at the University of Warwick to commence her PhD studies and was awarded the Jon Weaver Prize for the best PhD thesis in Polymer Chemistry in the UK and the prize for the best PhD in Chemistry at the University of Warwick. She then won an Elings Prize Post-doctoral Fellowship and a Global Marie Curie Fellowship at the University of California, Santa Barbara where she worked alongside Professor Craig Hawker. As of January 2019, she is an Assistant Professor at ETH and her group focuses on the development of new methodologies in controlled radical polymerization to synthesize smart polymers and polymeric nanomaterials with ultimate aim to control all properties of polymeric materials including the molecular weight, dispersity, architecture and functionality as well as their self-assembly into nanostructures with various size, shape, surface and core properties. In May 2019, she was awarded element curium on the IUPAC100 Periodic Table of Younger Chemists. She is currently serving on the Editorial Board of Polymer Chemistry and she is a co-author of more than 85 peer-reviewed publications (h-index 38), which have been cited approximately 4000 times.

Prof. Changle Chen is a professor for polymers at University of Science and Technology of China. The central theme of the research in Chen group is the development of new catalysts and new strategies for metal catalyzed polymerizations and polymer synthesis, with special focus on polyolefins. He obtained his B.S. degree from University of Science and Technology of China (USTC, 2005), and PhD from the University of Chicago (2010). After postdoctoral studies at Northwestern University and some time at Celanese Corporation, he started his independent career as a professor at USTC in 2013. He has published more than 120 scientific papers (h-index 46) with 5500 + citations. He is currently associate editor of Science Bulletin and European Polymer Journal, and is member of a number of editorial boards of prominent scientific journals. He has recently been awarded Chinese Chemical Society Award for Outstanding Young Chemist, Society of Polymer Science Japan International Leading Young Scientist, NSFC Excellent Young Scholar Fellowship and Young Talent Award on Polymer Processing and Industrial Development.

Visit Anastasaki homepage | Chen homepage

Go to MACRO2020

> Announcement published in Chem Int July 2020, p. 22

Comments are closed.