The CHEMRAWN VII Prize in Green Chemistry was first announced in August 2008 and since, has been awarded every two years at the IUPAC International Conference on Green Chemistry. The Prize of USD 5000 is granted to a young investigator (less than 45 years of age) from an emerging region who is actively contributing to research in atmospheric and green chemistry.

This award was first conceived through the cooperative efforts of the CHEMRAWN VII Future Actions Committee and the Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry Division of IUPAC to recognize a young scientist from a developing country whose research contributes to the field of green chemistry, while emphasizing atmospheric chemistry. It is now managed by the Interdivisional Committee on Green Chemistry for Sustainable Development.

[Chemrawn VII, Chemistry of the Atmosphere: Its Impact on Global Change was held 2-6 December 1991, Baltimore, USA. (Chem. Int. 14(4), p. 146-151, 1992 and History and Effectiveness of CHEMRAWN Conferences, 1978-2006 by John M. Malin)]


2010 – Noureddine Yassaa (Algeria) ; announcement published in Chem. Int. Sep 2010, p. 19

2012 – Rashimi Sanghi (India); announcement published in Chem. Int. Nov 2012, p. 19

2014 – Vania G. Zuin (Brazil); announcement published in Chem. Int. Nov 2014, p. 16

2016 – Ali Maleki (Iran); announcement published in Chem. Int. Sep 2016, p. 23

2018 – Mirabbos Hojamberdiev (Uzbekistan); announcement published in Chem. Int. Oct 2018

2020 – Huizhen Liu (China) and Banothile Makhubela (South Africa); announcement published in Chem. Int. Apr 2021

2022 – Vivek Polshettiwar (India)  (posted 11 Aug 2022)