Mirabbos Hojamberdiev is awarded the 2018 IUPAC Chemrawn VII Prize for Green Chemistry

Mirabbos Hojamberdiev (Uzbekistan) has been awarded the 2018 IUPAC-CHEMRAWN VII for Green Chemistry in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of green chemistry.

Semiconductor-based artificial photosynthetic system is one of the most viable and green chemical processes to produce renewable hydrogen energy from water splitting and to remove organic pollutants. To efficiently utilize solar energy in the wide visible range, it is necessary to enhance the visible-light-driven photocatalytic performance of less known photocatalysts and to discover novel visible-light-active photocatalysts. At this end, chemically engineered mixed-anion compounds have great potential photocatalytic applications for energy conversion and environment remediation.

Dr. Mirabbos Hojamberdiev has developed an NH3-assisted direct flux growth approach to reduce the density of intrinsic defects in transition metal oxynitrides (BaTaO2N, BaNbO2N, LaTiO2N, etc.), which led to the substantial enhancement in solar water splitting activity. He discovered new Dion-Jacobson phase CsBa2Ta3O10 and fabricated for the first time two-dimensional oxynitride nanostructures with high crystallinity, less defect density, and high photocatalytic activity of CsBa2Ta3O10, KLaTiO4, and K2La2Ti3O10. His work revealed new insights into why creating a p-n heterojunction using bismuth oxyhalides (BiOCl, BiOI) and doping are important for bandgap engineering and enhancing the photocatalytic activity of less active photocatalysts. He recently described the relationship between solar water splitting activity and a degree of octahedral tilting in perovskite oxynitrides.

The CHEMRAWN VII Prize was first announced in August 2008 and since, has been awarded every two years at the IUPAC International Conference on Green Chemistry. The Prize of USD 5000 is granted to a young investigator (less than 45 years of age) from an emerging region who is actively contributing to research in Green Chemistry. The 2018 CHEMRAWN VII Prize will be presented to Dr Hojamberdiev at the 8th IUPAC Conference on Green Chemistry that will be held 9-14 September 2018, in Bangkok, Thailand.

The IUPAC CHEMRAWNVII prize has previously been awarded to Noureddine Yassaa (Algeria) in 2010, Rashimi Sanghi (India) in 2012, Vania G. Zuin (Brazil) in 2014, and Ali Maleki (Iran) in 2016.

(announcement also published in CI Oct 2018, p. 22https://doi.org/10.1515/ci-2018-0408)

See originating Call posted 1 Aug 2017


Comments are closed.